I hope I’m doing this right.

I have never seen a machine like this. Hello?

I don’t think anyone can hear me.

I’ve been here nearly a week and I still don’t know where “here” is. I think it’s been a week. The days don’t seem to pass here. There is no clear night. The best I can do is shelter near this pulsing light that seems to give off an “energy”.

I don’t know why I’m typing this. The machine doesn’t speak. I’m lucky if it turns on some days. The typing helps to keep things ordered in my mind.

I’m sorry if this seems out of order but I just type as I think. Maybe I should start from the beginning…..

 

I was, or am, a deckhand on the airship Dr Valiant. The ship was crewed by 15 other men and women.  We set off on a standard drop off and collection of supplies from Fort Carrymore. In these times of peace our ship was only lightly armoured, to scare off any attempts by pirates to board us.

All was well, we had dropped off our cargo and were returning home. That’s when it descended, the fog, so thick you couldn’t see the wheelhouse from the crew quarters.  It felt, heavy, like all the life around us was being drained. After that my memory fails me. I woke up, alone, drifting through the sky. For 3 more days I drifted in and out barely able to rouse myself enough to drink but then it came into view, my saviour, my hope.

I managed to dock the ship and drag myself onto this strange land.  So here I am. I found a camera and managed to take a picture of my surroundings. The only explanation for this place can’t be true. It’s a myth. A fairytale. Even as I type the words I can’t believe it to be true.

Have I landed on Aurora?

 

 

